
Reporting Committee – Racing Rules 

Other Committee – Race Officials 

 

       Submission: 132-13 

Racing Rules of Sailing 

The Call Book for Match Racing, MR Call E3  

A submission from the the Chairman of the Racing Rules Committee 

Purpose or Objective 

To correct a rules update mistake in the current MR Call E3. 

 

Proposal 

,MR CALL  E3    (UMP 30) 

 

Rule 15        Acquiring Right of Way 

Rule 17      On the Same Tack; Proper Course 

Rule 18.2       Giving Mark-Room 

Rule C2.7  Tacking in the Zone 

Definitions Mark-Room 
  

Question 1 
  

Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Blue. Both boats tack and continue to round the mark. Blue 

becomes overlapped inside Yellow. Both boats Y-flag, what should the call be? 

  

 

Answer 1 
  

When Yellow enters the zone, rule 18.2(b) applies until Yellow passes head to wind. When 
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Blue thereafter passes head to wind, rule C2.7 applies because the boats are on the same 

tack and Yellow is fetching the mark. Rule 18.2 does not thereafter apply between them.  

 

When Blue completes her tack, rule C2.7(b) applies because Yellow can by luffing avoid 

becoming overlapped inside Blue. Penalize Yellow for not giving Blue mark-room.  

 

When Yellow becomes overlapped to windward and on the inside of Blue in position 3, mark-room 

includes room for Yellow to tack. After she has been given room to tack, 18.2(b) ceases to apply. 

From the moment Blue becomes overlapped inside Yellow, rule 18.2(a) applies. 

 

Rule 18.2(e) applies and Yellow is only required to give mark-room provided she has been able to 

do so from the time the overlap began. Since Yellow is unable to give mark-room, she is not 

required to give it. 

 

If the overlap was created by Blue bearing away, then rule 15 applies and Blue must initially give 

Yellow room to keep clear. If Yellow is unable to keep clear, penalize Blue.   

 

If the overlap was created by Yellow bearing away, Blue acquires right of way, at least in part, 

through Yellow’s actions. Therefore the second part of rule 15 applies, so Blue does not have to 

give Yellow room to keep clear. Penalize Yellow. 

 
Because the overlap is was established from clear astern, rule 17 applies.  
 

Question 2 
 

Yellow and Blue enter the zone overlapped. Both boats tack and continue to round the mark. Blue 

becomes overlapped inside Yellow. Yellow’s boom touches Blue’s hull. Both boats Y-flag, what 

should the call be? 
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Answer 2 
 

See answer 1. 
 
When Yellow enters the zone, rule 18.2(b) applies until one of the boats passes head to 
wind. At that moment, rule 18 ceases to apply because the conditions of rule 18.1(a) are 
met. When the other boat then passes head to wind, rule C2.7 applies. However, if both 
boats pass head to wind simultaneously [as shown in the diagram], the conditions of rule 
C2.7 will apply to each of them and rule 18.2 does not thereafter apply between them.  
 
When Yellow's tack is completed, Blue cannot by luffing avoid becoming overlapped inside 
Yellow. Rule C2.7(a) applies. When Blue's tack is completed, Yellow can by luffing avoid 
becoming overlapped inside Blue. Rule C2.7(b) applies. In either case, Blue is entitled to 
mark-room. At position 5, Yellow is not giving Blue mark-room. Penalize Yellow.   
 

Because the new overlap was established from clear astern, rule 17 applies.  

 

Current Position 

MR Call E3 as above. 

 

Reason 

When updating the Call Book for Match Racing in November 2012 it had not yet become clear that 
rule 18.3 applied in this situation. Match racing has changed rule 18.3 in rule C2.7. The call has 
been updated to be in line with the current rule. 


